Wednesday, November 19, 2008

Iggy & The Stooges - Rough Power

ROUGH POWER includes remixes of seven songs from RAW POWER, and songs from a 1973 radio broadcast on WABX in Detroit, Michigan.
Part of Bomp Records' Iguana Chronicles series, which pillages the vaults for Iggy & the Stooges rarities.
ROUGH POWER attempts to set the record straight--or at the very least expand the discussion--regarding the Stooges' controversial third record, RAW POWER. The official 1973 release featured production work by David Bowie that, according to some, comprised the original attack of the recordings. While Iggy's own 1997 remixed version of the album is a monster in its own right, these alternate mixes from 1972 show a band at an absolutely ferocious pinnacle. Oddly enough, however, the ROUGH POWER mixes actually contain more traditionally pop elements (check out the hand claps on "Shake Appeal") than what's heard on the final Bowie mixes. The quality here is very crude and for that reason the set is best recommended for Stooges diehards, but those on board will marvel at the pure rock-&-roll eruption that was the Stooges. At their best, it's genuinely hard to imagine a more dangerous band.
Includes liner notes by Frank Meyer.
Iggy & The Stooges: Iggy Pop (vocals); Ron Asheton (guitar, bass); James Williamson (guitar); Scott Asheton (drums).

Label: BOMP!
Format: CD
Country: US
Released: 1995
Genre: Rock
Style: Garage Rock

Track Listings
1. Search and Destroy
2. Gimme Danger
3. Hard to Beat (Pretty Face)
4. Penetration
5. Raw Power
6. I Need Somebody
7. Death Trip
8. I Need Somebody
9. Hard to Beat
10. Death Trip
11. Raw Power
12. Search and Destroy
13. Shake Appeal
14. Not Right
15. Raw Power
16. Shake Appeal
17. Search and Destroy

Download [94.7MB WinRAR. MP3's @ 192kBit/s]

No comments: